I don’t know enough…

I’ve had a beautiful day today. Life is good; I am happy, healthy, and have everything I need and I am so grateful for all of it.

Yet this week I have realised there is a lot of shit in this world. A lot of shit that I can do nothing about. Talking to a friend of mine about current atrocities happening across the world I became aware of the fact that I don’t know enough. I don’t know enough about the horrible things happening in our world; about the unimaginable suffering, pain, heartache, death, torture, abuse, and conflict.

Ignorance is bliss.

I don’t like to think of myself as ignorant, but I am most definitely ignorant to the horror that my fellow human beings are experiencing across the oceans. We tend to disassociate from situations that are not happening in our immediate areas. Sydney is not a dangerous war torn city; I am able to walk the streets without fearing for my life, I have the freedom to go where I please and say what I like, and I can determine my own future. And I am so unbelievably grateful for all of these things and more. However, it’s all too easy to see your surroundings as the only surroundings that exist, and with that we become ignorant to the world happening around us, and without awareness nothing can change, for how can we change what we don’t know?

People are dying.

Families, like yours and mine, are being killed.

Right now.

At this moment.

This realisation makes my heart ache.

What can I possibly do? Sometimes problems seem so big and scary that we give up before we even try. I wish we could all be more compassionate. There’s a lot of fear in this world, and fear breeds fear, and with fear comes defensive action, not for the bettering of a society but for the protection of what the defender has. We’re very good at telling others that it isn’t our problem.

Whatever is happening overseas, well that’s not my problem is it? I have enough to deal with as it is without having to worry about another country! 

Could you imagine if we all took responsibility for the atrocities of the world? If, as the collective human race, we decided that the issues of any group of humans was an issue to be dealt with by all humans, imagine what we could do, and what we could stop. It is important to realise that no matter what is happening, we are ALL human. We are all in this life together.

I know this hasn’t been the most uplifting post, but it is necessary for me to write this. Not just to get this off my chest but to be able to hold myself accountable for everything that I am saying. I don’t want to be ignorant to my brothers’ and sisters’ suffering, I don’t want to pretend that it’s ok when it isn’t. It is not ok. I have to know more because I do not know enough and by not knowing enough I’m not acknowledging the pain of real people who are suffering through things I could never imagine. To think that I thought I had problems. I know nothing of what the suffering of war is.

I cannot believe how incredibly lucky I am to have the life I have.

We are all so very lucky.

X

One thought on “I don’t know enough…

Leave a Reply

