I begin…

“To practice any art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow.

So do it. “

– Kurt Vonnegut

And so it begins.

For as long as I can remember I have been a writer, and by writer I mean it in the literal sense of the word; a person who writes things. Whether what I write holds any substance or interest for the person reading is another matter entirely (although I hope it does), however that isn’t my reason for writing. I write because I need to. My mind is forever full of different tangents and the only way I can process my thoughts is to put them down on paper, which often results in new perspectives complete with fresh tangents and thus the process continues until I’m drowning in various journals (so far I have 5). Writing is my outlet, and because of that I can only write my own experiences, thoughts, ideas and feelings, and the thought of putting all of those things in a public forum does make me slightly nervous, however I think that nerves are proof that you’re passionate about what you’re doing, so do it (as Vonnegut says).

So here I am.

This blog will be a collection of the discoveries I have made on a weekly basis, updated every Sunday. Whether it be discoveries about myself or other people, new experiences, old experiences, things that make me happy, things that frustrate me, and all of the things in between. I find myself constantly learning more and more about this crazy life, and the more I learn the more excited I become and the more I want to share my perspectives and listen to the perspectives of others, and I think here is a good place to start.

If there’s one thing I am passionate about it is being passionate – do the things that make your heart race and fill you with that nervous excitement and do it with passion. Throw yourself into those things and make no apologies for fucking up or failing or not fitting the stereotype because that is not the point, you aren’t here for anyone else’s benefit but your own, so do it and do it in your own way.

Until next week

X

One thought on “I begin…

Leave a comment