I want to know…

I’ve been doing a lot of talking this week.

A LOT.

The older I get the more curious I am about everything, regardless how trivial or silly it sounds. For example, about half an hour ago I asked my friend (who loves fishing/boating) “When you buy a boat, is it already in the water or do you have to put it in yourself?”

Now it probably sounds like a stupid question.

Maybe it is.

But I don’t mind, I like asking questions and questioning things in general, so if it sounds stupid I’m happy to take that as I’d rather learn new things than restrict myself by being concerned about how I am sounding to the other person. In my opinion, questions are a vital part of humanity. In order to learn and grow and change, we all have to ask questions. I always find it interesting when I am in one of my classes (I’m currently in my 2nd year of social work) how very few people want to engage in discussions or ask questions, sometimes it’s as if no-one is interested in learning anymore.

I love learning.

Sounds a bit nerdy doesn’t it? Ah well. I’ll cop that too.

But it’s true, I really do love learning. About anything and everything. I find people so interesting and I can’t help but want to know more about each person’s life; their job, hobbies, strengths and weaknesses, and I think by doing so, I find ways to relate to everyone, even if they are the complete opposite of me. In this technological world that we live in today, I’m scared that we are losing the art of conversation. I’m not talking about general chit chat you might have when you bump into a friend on the street, I’m talking real, substantial, hour long or more conversations where you actually leave feeling like you’ve peeled back another layer of the world to reveal something amazing you’ve never seen before. I’ve decided I’m going to make a conscious effort to really talk to people from now on, to focus, listen and respond to what they’re saying. We are all human, and we all have our own unique and important story to tell.

I want to know what makes people tick.

I want to know why people act the way they do.

I want to know what scares people.

I want to know what people are passionate about.

I want to know what and who people love.

I want to know it all really.

Of course I know I can never know it all…

(But I’m going to try anyway)

X

Leave a comment